Blues: Weekly Discovery Hour – June 3, 2017

The Weekly Discovery Dozen for the week of June 3rd:

Follow the list on Spotify  Blues Hour:  Current Releases and Discovery- new updates each week.  Like what you see?  Want a song preview?  Click on the album image which links back to

As always, please comment with your thoughts, discoveries or favorites to share with greater Blues Community.

Artist: Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band
Song: “One More Thing”
Album: Front Porch Sessions
Release Date: March 10, 2017
Label: Family Owned Records

Artist: Rag’n’Bone Man
Song: “Human”
Album: Human (Deluxe)
Release Date: February 10, 2017
Label: Best Laid Plans/Columbia

Artist: Gurf Morlix
Song: “Bad Things”
Album: The Soul & the Heal
Release Date: February 3, 2017
Label: Rootball

Artist: Billy Flynn
Song: “Lonesome Highway”
Album: Lonesome Highway
Release Date: March 2, 2017
Label: Delmark

Artist: Vintage#18
Song: “Million Miles”
Album: Grit
Release Date: April 21, 2017
Label: Self Release

Artist: Polly O’keary and the Rhythm Method
Song: “I Don’t Understand”
Album: Black Crow Calling
Release Date: May 12, 2017
Label: Self Release

Artist: Vanessa Collier
Song: “Whiskey and Women”
Album: Meeting My Shadow
Release Date: February 24, 2017
Label: Ruf

Artist: Hector Anchondo Band
Song: “Face It Down”
Album: Roll The Dice
Release Date: April 2, 2017
Label: Self Release

Artist: Jim Gustin and Truth Jones
Song: “Memphis”
Album: Memphis
Release Date: March 31, 2017
Label: Self Release

Artist: Elvin Bishop
Song: “It’s You, Baby”
Album: Elvin Bishop’s Big Fun Trio
Release Date: February 10, 2017
Label: Alligator

Artist: ZZ Ward
Song: “Cannonball (feat. Fantastic Negrito)
Album: The Storm (out June 30th)
Release Date: May 26, 2017
Label: Hollywood Records

Artist: Hurricane Ruth
Song: “Let Me Be the One”
Album: Ain’t Ready for the Grave
Release Date: March 10, 2017
Label: Self Released

Artist: Delta Moon
Song: “Just Lucky I Guess”
Album: Cabbagetown
Release Date: March 17, 2017
Label: Jumping Jack Records

Artist: Micki Free
Song: “There’s a Hole in the Heart of the Blues”
Album: Tattoo Burn-Redux
Release Date: May 12, 2017
Label: Mysterium Blues Records

Artist: Delbert McClinton
Song: “San Miguel”
Album: Prick of the Litter
Release Date: January 27, 2017
Label: Hot Shot Records

Curator’s Notes:   Opens with three songs that are outside the sometimes rigid box of The Blues.  This is how we discover new, right?  The first song “One More Thing” is haunting.  The remainder is a solid mix of the new and those that have brought it for years.  Mr. Bishop – always good to hear from you!

What are you listening to that we should be featuring?  Enjoy.

Tone Deaf Terry

Suggestions and Comments Welcome

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s